What does it mean to be URAC accredited?

According to URAC, accreditation is defined as an “evaluative, rigorous, transparent, and comprehensive process in which a healthcare organization undergoes an examination of its systems, processes, and performance by an impartial external organization to ensure that it is conducting business in a manner that meets

How many accreditation and certification programs does URAC offer?

Accreditation and Certification Directories

URAC recognizes the quality of more than 1,000 health care organizations through its programs.

What is the difference between NCQA and URAC?

NCQA accredits organizations ranging from health plans including HMOs and PPOs to physician networks and medical groups. URAC accredits health plan programs including dental plans, healthcare management programs, pharmacy quality management programs, and provider integration and coordination programs.

What is Specialty Pharmacy accreditation?

NABP’s Specialty Pharmacy Accreditation is a three-year accreditation best suited for pharmacies providing an advanced level of pharmacy services and disease management for patients taking medications that require special handling, storage, and distribution requirements. …

What are URAC standards?

URAC standards are that map for organizations looking to improve their quality of care and safety. And while we set the standards, we don’t get prescriptive about how you achieve them. This approach supports and encourages your team’s innovation with best practices.

What are URAC Core standards?

Core Standards are basic standards with which most URAC-accredited entities must comply. These standards, which serve as a common foundation for many of URAC’s accreditation programs, address several key organizational management functions that are important for any healthcare organization.

What is URAC pharmacy?

URAC is the nation’s largest independent health care accreditation organization and the undisputed leader in pharmacy accreditation. … Many payers and manufacturers recognize URAC’s Pharmacy Accreditation as a key differentiator and independent validation of quality.

What does URAC stand for in pharmacy?

Utilization Review Accreditation Commission
URAC was originally incorporated under the name Utilization Review Accreditation Commission. That name was shortened to the acronym URAC in 1996 when we began accrediting other types of organizations such as health plans, pharmacies and provider organizations.

What is ASHP accreditation?

ASHP Accreditation is the gold-standard to which all pharmacy practices aspire. Our standards uniquely build upon ASHP’s 75+ year history of developing and applying practice standards that reflect national quality initiatives and contemporary and future practice.

Who is NCQA accredited?

The National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) accredits and certifies an array of healthcare organizations, including providers, practices and health plans. The non-profit organization began in the early 1990s by measuring and then accrediting health plans.

How many specialty pharmacies are there in the US?

900 pharmacies
As of 2018, there were more than 900 pharmacies with a specialty accreditation in the United States (URAC, Accreditation Commission for Health Care, or Center for Pharmacy Practice Accreditation).

Is Specialty Pharmacy profitable?

The financial opportunity associated with hospital-owned specialty pharmacy is generally lucrative when the volume is present. It is not unheard of for 340B hospitals and health systems to generate 40% – 50% margins on their oncology specialty business.

Who is the certifying body for pharmacists?

BPS board certification is the gold standard for determining which pharmacists are qualified to contribute at advanced practice levels.

How much is ASHP membership?

2021 Membership Rates
Membership CategoriesDescriptionMembership Dues
New PractitionerFirst year post graduate members and individuals participating in a post graduate year one or two residency or fellowship$84
New PractitionerSecond year post graduate members not participating in a residency or fellowship$168

What certifications do pharmacists need?

Pharmacists are required to take 2 licensing exams after successfully completing a PharmD program. You’ll need to take the North American Pharmacist Licensure Exam (NAPLEX) and either the Multistate Pharmacy Jurisprudence Exam (MPJE) or a jurisprudence exam specific to your state.

What does ASHP stand for?

American Society of Health System Pharmacists
American Society of Health System Pharmacists® (ASHP)

What is the purpose of ASHP?

ASHP Mission

The mission of pharmacists is to help people achieve optimal health outcomes. ASHP helps its members achieve this mission by advocating and supporting the professional practice of pharmacists in hospitals, health systems, ambulatory clinics, and other settings spanning the full spectrum of medication use.