How do I force my iPhone to factory reset?

Those steps to factory resetting your iPhone are listed again below if you need them in an easier-to-read format:
  1. Tap Settings > General > Reset.
  2. Tap ‘Erase all content and settings’
  3. Enter passcode/Face ID/fingerprint.
  4. Tap ‘Erase iPhone/iPad’
  5. Enter Apple ID password.
  6. Your iPhone/iPad will now factory reset.

How do I completely wipe and reset my iPhone?

How to Factory Reset Your iPhone
  1. Unlock your ‌iPhone‌ or iPad and launch the Settings app.
  2. Tap General.
  3. Scroll to the bottom and tap Reset.
  4. Tap Erase All Content and Settings.
  5. Tap in your passcode if requested.
  6. Enter your ‌Apple ID‌ password to erase the ‌iPhone‌ and remove it from your account.
  7. Tap Erase.

How do I factory reset my iPhone with buttons?

Method 2: Hard reset an iPhone with Home + Power buttons
  1. Hold the sleep/wake button ( It is located on the right side of iPhone 6 / iPhone 6 Plus. …
  2. Hold them both until you see the screen go black. …
  3. Wait until the silver Apple logo appears.
  4. When this happens, you can let go – the iPhone is rebooting.

Does resetting iPhone delete everything?

Well, the answer is yes, it will delete all data that is stored on your device including apps, contacts, call logs, notes, and much more. Moreover, PhoneRescue for iOS can be your best choice to recover lost data on iPhone after the factory reset.

How do I reset my iPhone to factory settings without passcode?

According to Apple; the official method to erase and reset an iPhone or iPad if you don’t know the screen time passcode is to plug it into a computer running iTunes, sign into iTunes using a parent’s account, then click on the icon for the device and click Restore.

How do I erase my iPhone without password or iTunes?

What does factory reset do?

A factory data reset erases your data from the phone. While data stored in your Google Account can be restored, all apps and their data will be uninstalled. To be ready to restore your data, make sure that it’s in your Google Account. Learn how to back up your data.

What happens when you do a factory reset on your iPhone?

Factory reset or hard reset deletes complete data and settings from your iPhone. All your photos, videos, contacts, call logs, passwords, messages, browsing history, calendar, chat history, notes, installed apps, etc., get deleted from the iOS device. It cleans your iPhone as new with no personal information at all.

Does factory reset remove all data permanently?

When you do a factory reset on your Android device, it erases all the data on your device, and returns the phone back to its original out-of-the-box state as it was from the factory.

How do I open my phone after factory reset?

You can restore Android after a factory reset if you have checked the Automatic Restore option in settings.
  1. Launch Settings on the Android device.
  2. Find and tap Backup & reset or you can tap System and then tap Reset for other devices.
  3. Verify if the Automatic Restore box is checked.

Does a factory reset remove viruses iPhone?

If you got the virus after the backup being restored, then YES, this will remove the virus. And, if you do a complete wipe of your iPhone, going to Settings > General > Reset > Erase all Data… Then YES, this will remove all viruses, and everything else on your iPhone.

Will a factory reset delete my photos?

Yes, you can restore an Android phone’s pictures after a factory data reset. There are many android data recovery tools available which lets you recover deleted or lost contacts, text messages, photos, WhatsApp messages, music, video and more documents.

Can you undo a factory reset?

Unfortunately, there is no way to undo factory reset. But there are methods to recover pictures, contacts, or other data after factory reset it. … Luckily, if you did back up your device in advance, you can try Android Data Backup & Restore to get your data back on the phone with ease.

Does factory reset remove accounts?

Factory Reset will not remove your accounts from that device. Typically you go into the device/app’s configuration and then you logout/remove the accounts first.

Does factory reset harm your phone?

It will not remove the device’s operating system (iOS, Android, Windows Phone) but will go back to its original set of apps and settings. Also, resetting it doesn’t harm your phone, even if you end up doing it multiple times.

How do I factory reset my phone without losing everything?

Open Settings and then choose System, Advanced, Reset options, and Delete all data (factory reset). Android will then show you an overview of the data you’re about to wipe. Tap Erase all data, enter the lock screen PIN code, then tap Erase all data again to start the reset process.

Can you recover data from factory reset phone?

Yes! It’s absolutely possible to recover data after factory reset Android. … Because whenever you delete a file from your Android phone or your factory reset your Android phone, the data stored on your phone never gets permanently wiped out. The data remains hidden in the storage space of your Android phone.

How often should I factory reset my iPhone?

A factory reset is needed occasionally to help troubleshoot repairs and improve performance. An Apple technician can recommend a factory reset of your device to help fix software errors or if you decide to sell your phone and want to remove all of your personal data from the iPhone.

Is resetting your iPhone good?

There are several reasons you may want to reset your iPhone. … It’s also smart to reset your iPhone before selling it. Resetting your iPhone will remove your apps, your contacts, your photos, your preferred settings, and other information stored on your phone so the new owner can start fresh.

Should I factory reset my phone before sending it back?

There are various ways to trade in or sell your old iPhone or Android phone, but you must wipe it properly first. … If you don’t properly log out and remove accounts, you may end up missing new incoming messages, and factory-reset protection on Android phones can lock buyers out even after the device has been wiped.

Will factory reset affect iCloud?

No, factory resetting your iPhone will not alter your iCloud. Upon setting up your iPhone again you will be given the option to reconnect to your iCloud account if you desire. iCloud also stores iPhone backups that you can restore your phone from. … Erasing your iPhone has only effect on the device itself.

What happens if I erase my iPhone?

When you tap Erase All Content and Settings, it completely erases your device, including any credit or debit cards you added for Apple Pay and any photos, contacts, music, or apps. It will also turn off iCloud, iMessage, FaceTime, Game Center, and other services.

How do you know if your iPhone is wiped clean?

Login to your iCloud account, and go to Find my iPhone. click on the All Devices dropdown, It should show you the status of your phone. If it has been erased, it will not show in the list( Again, assuming it was the find my iPhone setting was enabled by you and wasn’t disabled by the thief).